News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
Award winners revealed

Award winners revealed

Andrew Schooler13 May - 08:22
Share via

End-of-season presentation evening sees Luke Mayhew named supporters' player of the year.

Luke Mayhew, Reece Harte and Alfie Canning were among the award winners at the Harwich and Parkeston FC end-of-season presentation evening on Saturday night.

After a season which saw him score 27 goals in 38 appearances, Mayhew topped the supporters’ player of the year poll and duly received his fans’ award at the Park Pavilion on Saturday.

Mayhew also collected a prize for finishing as the club’s top scorer in a season which saw the Shrimpers finish seventh in Eastern Counties League Division One North.

Left-back Harte was chosen as the players’ player of the year. He played in 42 of the 45 matches – only keeper Brad Cook made more appearances – and was a model of consistency in defence.

The managers’ player of the year award went to teenager Canning, who impressed in his first season at the club having joined from Little Oakley last summer.

Check out Rob Southgate's photos from awards night!

The awards ceremony was a swansong at the club for manager Sean Tynan and his assistant Gary Kioussis, who are stepping down after almost three years in charge at the Royal Oak.

The pair, who will be replaced by Matt Carmichael, were both made life members of the club.

The evening also featured an emotional tribute to former chairman Barry Vernon, who died at the age of 78 last month.

His funeral will take place at Colchester Crematorium on Thursday May 30 at 1.45pm. All those who knew him are welcome to attend.

Meanwhile, supporters also voted keeper Matt Huggins as their under-23s player of the year. Freddy Bethell won the players’ player award for the newly-formed side.

Vicky Davies was named women’s players’ player of the year, while keeper Michael Scott won the equivalent prize for the club’s main under-18 team, which competes in the Thurlow Nunn Youth League.

Clubman of the year went to matchday secretary Danny McLaughlin.

The club would like to thank Keeley Neale for her excellent organisation of the event, and all those who attended.

Full list of award winners:

First team
Supporters’ POTY: Luke Mayhew
Players’ POTY: Reece Harte
Managers’ POTY: Alfie Canning
Top scorer: Luke Mayhew
Clubman of the year: Danny Mclaughlin
Supporter of the year: Mick Callighan

Supporters’ POTY: Matt Huggins
Players’ POTY: Freddy Bethell
Managers’ POTY: Ewan Livingston

Players’ POTY: Vicky Davies
Managers’ POTY: Chelsea Waldock
Most improved player: Destiny Shaw
Top scorer: Summer Rotchell

Under 18s (Thurlow Nunn)
Players’ POTY: Michael Scott
Managers’ POTY: Bailey Hymus
Top scorer: Jack Elvestad

Under-18s (Colchester & District)
Supporters’ POTY: Theo Stevenson
Players’ POTY: Ellis Taylor
Managers’ POTY: Riley Stevenson
Clubman of the year: Oakley McNair

Further reading